Lac Ste. Anne County's schools and children's programs support early learners, students, parents, teachers and administrators from Early Childhood Services (ECS) through Grade 12. ECS includes Kindergarten and educational programming for children as young as 2 years 8 months of age. For further information, please consult the following schools and facilities directly.

Northern Gateway School Division

Northern Gateway Public Schools operates 16 schools, four colony schools and four off-campus outreach programs, serving just under 5,000 learners in the communities of Alberta Beach, Onoway, Rich Valley, Darwell, Sangudo, Mayerthorpe, Whitecourt, Fox Creek and Valleyview.

COVID-19 Information for Families and Staff

All K-12 Classes Cancelled Until Further Notice

On March 15, 2020, the Government of Alberta announced a province-wide school closure, canceling all classes indefinitely. This means:

  • All classes, Kindergarten to Grade 12, are canceled until further notice
  • All school pre/playschool programs are canceled until further notice
  • Community use of school facilities is canceled until further notice

We understand that school closures have a profound impact on families and that parents have many questions. We appreciate your patience and understanding during these unprecedented times.

Playgrounds Closed Until Further Notice

All playgrounds on Northern Gateway Public Schools property are closed to the public indefinitely, to help reduce the spread of COVID-19. We ask families to say off playgrounds as play structures are not cleaned or sanitized.

Work-From-Home Staff Protocol

NGPS has implemented a work-from-home protocol. Some critical staff remain in the school facilities. This decision aligns with new public health measures that include restrictions on gatherings of more than 15 people.

Continuing Student Learning

On March 20, 2020, the Government of Alberta released new Content Delivery Guidelines to direct how students will learn while in-school classes are canceled.

  • All Kindergarten to Grade 12 students, regardless of their geographic location or socioeconomic status, will receive at-home learning opportunities, either through online means or through other accommodations, such as course packages and telephone check-ins.
  • The Education Minister affirmed that every K-12 student will receive final grades and a report card for the 2019-2020 school year and that students who were on track to progress to the next grade, will do so.
  • Provincial Achievement Tests and Grade 12 Diploma Exams are canceled. 

NGPS staff have been working hard to re-envision learning within this new context, adapting lessons for online formats, planning for ongoing technology needs and keeping students and parents informed. Click Here to learn more.

Learning will continue through a variety of online learning platforms, telephone calls, emails and learning packages. All students and families have been contacted by their school and/or teachers to discuss their learning plan going forward. 

Questions & Answers - Alberta Education Continuity Plan (QA)

Elementary/Junior/Senior High Schools

Darwell School

Darwell School strives to build successful, lifelong independent thinkers and learners. Working with our community, our school provides a safe and caring environment which values high expectations for staff and students.

Box 140, Darwell, AB T0E 0L0
T: 780.892.2478
F: 780.892.4727

Elmer Elson Elementary School

With a mission to foster the development of engaged learners and ethical citizens, this school strives to create empowered members of the community. Its philosophy is personified in its motto, “Engaged learners, Ethical citizens, and Empowered youth."

4215 Geinger Avenue, Mayerthorpe AB T0E 1N0
T: 780.786.2268
F: 780.786.2050

Grasmere School

Grasmere School aims to provide activities that inspire our students to be the best that they can be. Students are motivated in a safe and caring environment to pursue knowledge and understanding far beyond the realm of the classroom.

Box 210 Alberta Beach AB T0E 0A0
T: 780.924.3758
F: 780.924.3473

Mayerthorpe Junior/Senior High School

Mayerthorpe Jr/Sr High School is a modern, well-equipped facility that serves 260 students enrolled in Grades 7 through 12. Students enjoy the close-knit feel of a small town school that provides the opportunity to participate in a variety of educational experiences.

Box 40, Mayerthorpe AB T0E 1N0
T: 780.786.2624
F: 780.786.2246

Onoway Elementary School

Onoway Elementary School serves 471 students in Kindergarten through Grade 7. To meet the needs of a diverse population, teachers provide multiple pathways to learning. A caring, respectful and safe environment welcomes students and parents to this technology-rich school.

Box 399 Onoway AB T0E 1V0
T: 780.967.5209
F: 780.967.5523

Onoway Junior/Senior High School

Students are taught in the school's new state-of-the art building. This two storey structure has numerous features designed to support all learners. It has a CTS wing supporting Mechanics/construction/Art Cosmetology and Technology.

Bag 340, Onoway AB T0E 1V0
T: 780.967.2271
F: 780.967.2660

Rich Valley School

Rich Valley School is committed to providing a quality education to assist our students in becoming a community of learners focused on academic achievement, critical thinking and citizenship, enabling them to be successful lifelong learners in an ever changing global society.

R.R. #1, Gunn AB T0E 1A0
T: 780.967.5754
F: 780.967.4484

Rochfort Bridge Colony School

Understanding that every student is unique, this School ensures every student feels welcome. The school focuses on teaching and inspiring the whole child, creating an environment where every student leaves school saying: "I matter. I've got this. I'm just getting started."

Box 840, 4816-49 Avenue, Whitecourt AB T7S 1N8
T: 780.778.2800
F: 780.778.6719

Sangudo Community School

This modern, fully-equipped school has a large gymnasium, Science, Foods and Music/Arts labs and an up-to-date computer program equipped with more than one hundred personal devices for student use, as well as desk top computers in each classroom.

Box 419, 5131 - 53 Ave, Sangudo AB T0E 2A0
T: 780.785.3431
F: 780.785.3179