County Fire Chief Receives Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year Award

On Monday, September 14 during its Annual General Meeting, the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs honoured Fire Chief Randy Schroeder of Lac Ste. Anne County Fire Services with the 2020 Canadian Volunteer Fire Chief of the year award.

Chief Schroeder was nominated by the Town of Mayerthorpe for his volunteer service to the Mayerthorpe Fire Department (which also serves as Lac Ste. Anne County’s Station Six).

This top award was presented to Chief Schroeder during the Celebration of Excellence segment of the AGM. Chief Schroeder accepted the award via videoconference, as the 2020 AGM was held remotely due to COVID-19.

"Thank you to my wife Angie, my kids and grand kids. Thanks to the Town of Mayerthorpe for all of your support for the past 17 years as the Chief of your department, and for the nomination. Congrats to all the other nominees whom I know work so tirelessly for the protection of their communities. You are all awesome," remarked Chief Schroeder.

The County congratulates Chief Schroeder for his well-deserved recognition from his peers, and thanks him for the critical leadership role he plays in safeguarding the region.

Print   Email