Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks

Leveraging the Collective Potential of the Region

Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks

Leveraging the Collective Potential of the Region

An Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework (ICF) highlights and formalizes existing collaborative work between adjacent municipalities and provides a forum to work together. The primary goal of ICFs is ensuring neighbouring municipalities work together regarding service delivery and cost-sharing.

Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks (ICFs) must align with the requirements outlined in Part 17.2 of the Municipal Government Act.

Mayerthorpe ICF Matter

news item

Before it will enter into an ICF with Lac Ste. Anne County, the Town of Mayerthorpe has demanded that the County pay considerably more for the Town’s recreation facilities. In other words, Mayerthorpe expects County ratepayers to pay up to double what they currently pay for recreation each year.

Working Together Toward Efficient, Effective Service Provision

An ICF helps facilitate cooperation between neighbouring municipalities so that municipal services are provided to residents as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. These frameworks are designed to:

  • Provide for integrated and strategic planning, delivery and funding of intermunicipal services
  • Allocate scarce resources efficiently in the providing local services
  • Ensure municipalities contribute funding to services that benefit their residents

Local governments that share a common border must create an ICF with each other, unless they are members of the same growth management board. Municipalities that are members of the same growth management board may create a framework with other members on matters not addressed in the growth plan or servicing plan.

The County acknowledges the positive and participatory process it has experienced working with almost the entirety of its neighbours throughout the ICF process. Agreements are already in place with all bordering municipalities – with the unfortunate exception of the Town of Mayerthorpe.

Municipalities that do not have a common boundary may be parties to a framework. Municipalities that are parties to a framework may invite an Indian band or Metis settlement to participate in the delivery and funding of services to be provided under the framework. Each framework must:

  • Describe the services that benefit residents in more than one of the municipalities
  • Identify which municipality is responsible for providing these services
  • Outline how the services will be delivered and funded include a process for resolving disputes that occur while the framework is in effect

ICFS to be Renewed periodically

Municipalities will be required to review their ICFs every 5 years after the creation of the framework, or within a shorter period of time if provided for in the framework.

By early 2021, ICFs were signed by County Council and its respective partner municipalities (with the sole exception of the Town of Mayerthorpe:

ICF Partner Counties

  • Barrhead County
  • Parkland County
  • Sturgeon County
  • Woodlands County
  • Yellowhead County

ICF Partner Towns

  • Town of onoway

ICF Partner Villages

  • Village of Alberta Beach

ICF Partner Summer Villages

  • Summer Village of Birch Cove
  • Summer Village of Castle Island
  • Summer Village of Nakamun Park
  • Summer Village of Ross Haven
  • Summer Village of Silver Sands
  • Summer Village of South View
  • Summer Village of Sunrise Beach
  • Summer Village of Sunset Point
  • Summer Village of Val Quentin
  • Summer Village of West Cove
  • Summer Village of Yellowstone

Main Website Navigation